In Memory Of The CATFATHER.

June 6, 2013 § Leave a comment

Those of you who have been reading my ramblings since the old 360 days will have noticed that no matter where I host the blog at I have always had the same profile picture all these years. The picture of a regal looking Maine Coon Cat. THE CATFATHER so named by his caretaker Deb Leonard because all the animals in his neighborhood knew who was the boss. Dog , cat or anything else you didn’t mess with the Catfather:) I loved hearing Deb talk about this cat from the first time she told me about him and he just looked so cool and dignified. So I borrowed a picture of him and have been using it ever since, something she has been kind enough to allow these years. Deb and the Catfather were on my list of friends I wanted to visit someday. Regretfully I will not get to visit the great Cat whenever I get around to visiting Deb as she recently informed me of his passing.  Farewell buddy hope you are chasing the mice across the sky. In memory one cool cat:)

From CATS ARE KIND

“A man said to the universe,
‘Sir, I exist!’
‘Excellent,’ replied the universe,
‘I’ve been looking for someone to take care of my cats.” 
― Henry N. BeardPoetry for Cats: The Definitive Anthology of Distinguished Feline Verse

 

Black cat, black cat, smiles and lies,
hiding behind your black cat eyes.
Sneaking glances and proud prances,
ears erect, you are foolishly wise.

Black cat, black cat, tail a twitch,
you snap it like a long black switch.
Indifferent poses and upturned noses,
nails kneading, you are a witch.

Black cat, black cat, treacherous grin,
Jumping, prowling, you go for a spin.
Tensely tiffed and mildly miffed,
niftly napping, you always win.

Black cat, black cat, calling meow,
I can pet you when you allow.
Pleasantly purring, just barely stirring,
nuzzling nearer, I’ll forgive you somehow.

Copyright Larry Franz  

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In Memory Of The CATFATHER. at It's Only Words.

meta

